Canadian Federation of Chiropractic Regulatory and Educational Accrediting Boards

Becoming a Chiropractor

Individuals interested in becoming a chiropractor will have to make a substantial investment of time in their education. In order to be registered to practice as a chiropractor with a provincial or territorial regulatory board in Canada, you must complete the following:

1. Pre-Chiropractic Education Programme Requirements

Chiropractic educational programmes in Canada are accredited by the Council on Chiropractic Education Canada of the Canadian Federation of Chiropractic Regulatory and Educational Accrediting Boards (Federation). The Federation establishes the Standards for Doctor of Chiropractic Programmes which set out the minimum requirements for entry to an accredited educational programme.

The Federation's Standards for Doctor of Chiropractic Programmes states:

2. Graduation from an Accredited Doctor of Chiropractic Education Programme

The Federation establishes the Standards for Doctor of Chiropractic Programmes which set out the educational requirements and accredit programmes in compliance with those Standards. Federation accredited programmes require a minimum of four to five academic years of full-time study totalling no less than 4,200 hours.

There are two programmes accredited by the Federation. They are:

In addition to the academic elements of the programme, chiropractic education requires hands-on clinical experience under the direct supervision of highly-qualified chiropractic faculty. This experience includes clinical assessment, diagnosis, treatment, and referral protocols. The faculty at both CMCC and UQTR have diverse backgrounds and offer students a wide range of expertise. Faculty come from such disciplines as biological sciences, pathology, medicine and psychology, as well as chiropractic.

Both the CMCC and UQTR programmes include courses in anatomy, biochemistry, physiology, neurology, embryology, principles of chiropractic, radiology, immunology, microbiology, pathology, nutrition, and clinical sciences specifically relating to diagnosis.

In particular, students receive training in radiology which covers a range of topics from radiation biophysics and protection to clinical x-ray interpretation and diagnosis. Radiology training consists of more than 360 contact hours followed by application during clinical internship.

Chiropractic students are educated as primary-contact health care practitioners, with emphasis on neuro-musculo-skeletal diagnosis and treatment. This education concentrates on three areas of learning:

The Federation is a member of the Councils on Chiropractic Education International (CCEI), along with the CCE US, the European CCE and the Australasian CCE. All CCEI member agencies uphold similar high standards. For a listing of all accredited programmes world-wide please visit the CCEI web site.

Graduates of chiropractic programmes accredited by a CCEI member agency are recognized by the Federation and are eligible to sit licensure examinations in Canada.

3. Examination of Candidates for Licensure

Upon graduation from an accredited programme, candidates must pass the written and practical exams offered by the Canadian Chiropractic Examining Board (CCEB). For more information on these examinations, please visit the CCEB web site.

4. Application to Provincial or Territorial Regulatory Board

After passing the CCEB examinations, you may apply for licensure in a Canadian province or territory. Each regulatory jurisdiction has unique requirements for licensure and should be contacted early in the process of becoming a chiropractor. In addition to graduation and being successful on the examinations, regulatory boards generally will need the following:

Please note that it is the responsibility of the candidate for licensure to check with the relevant chiropractic provincial or territorial regulatory board to ensure that they meet all of the requirements.

La Fédération Chiropratique Canadienne des Organismes de
Réglementation Professionnelle et d'Agrément des Programmes d'Enseignment

Faire Carrière en Chiropratique

Les personnes intéressées par la profession chiropratique doivent être prêtes à consacrer de nombreuses années à leur formation. Pour obtenir un permis de pratique auprès d’un organisme de réglementation provincial ou territorial au Canada, vous devez répondre aux conditions suivantes:

1. Une formation préparatoire au programme de chiropratique

Au Canada, les programmes d’éducation en chiropratique sont agréés par la fédération chiropratique canadienne des organismes de réglementation professionnelle et d'agrément des programmes d'enseignement (la fédération). À ce titre, la fédération a le mandat d’établir les normes minimales d’accès à un programme agréé de docteur en chiropratique (Standards pour les programmes de docteur en chiropratique).

En vertu des normes du la fédération:

2. Diplôme d’un programme agréé de docteur en chiropratique

La fédération établit les normes de formation et reconnaît les programmes à la lumière de ces normes. Les programmes reconnus par la fédération comportent au moins quatre à cinq années de scolarité à temps plein, totalisant au moins 4 200 heures.

Deux établissements ont été agréés par la fédération:

En plus de ses composantes théoriques, la formation en chiropratique requiert une expérience clinique encadrée par des professeurs de chiropratique hautement qualifiés. Cette expérience pratique porte sur les protocoles d’examen clinique, de diagnostic, de traitement et de demande de consultation. Les antécédents fort diversifiés des enseignants du CMCC et de l’UQTR assurent aux étudiants un large champ d’expériences. En effet, outre la chiropratique, ils proviennent de divers secteurs, notamment les sciences biologiques, la pathologie, la médecine et la psychologie.

Les programmes du CMCC et de l’UQTR incluent tous deux des cours d’anatomie, de biochimie, de physiologie, de neurologie, d’embryologie, de principes de la chiropratique, de radiologie, d’immunologie, de microbiologie, de pathologie, de nutrition et de sciences cliniques liées en particulier au diagnostic.

La formation en radiologie est particulièrement poussée, couvrant des aspects qui vont de la biophysique et de la protection des radiations à l’interprétation clinique des radiographies et au diagnostic. La formation en radiologie comporte 360 heures de cours qui sont suivies par un internat clinique.

Les programmes de chiropratique visent à former des professionnels de la santé de première ligne, spécialisés dans le diagnostic et le traitement de problèmes neuro-musculosquelettiques. Cette formation comporte trois volets fondamentaux:

La fédération est membre des Councils on Chiropractic Education International (CCEI), aux côtés du CCE US, de l’European CCE et de l’Australasian CCE. Les membres de cet organisme international partagent les mêmes normes supérieures. Pour obtenir la liste des programmes de formation agréés dans le monde entier, consultez le site Internet des CCEI.

Les diplômés des programmes de chiropratiques agréés par un organisme membre du CCEI sont reconnus par la fédération et peuvent se présenter pour l’obtention d’un permis de pratique au Canada.

3. Pour l’obtention du permis de pratique

Pour obtenir le droit de pratiquer, les diplômés d’un programme agréé doivent réussir des examens écrits et pratiques régis par le Conseil des examens chiropratique canadien (CECC). Pour plus d’information sur ces examens, veuillez consulter le site Internet du CECC.

4. Demande de permis d’exercice provincial ou territorial

Après avoir réussi les examens du CECC, les candidats peuvent soumettre une demande de permis auprès des organismes de réglementation provinciaux ou territoriaux. Chaque province ou territoire établit ses propres normes de pratique. Il est donc conseillé de communiquer avec votre organisme durant votre formation. Outre le diplôme et la réussite des examens, les organismes de réglementation exigent généralement:

Il est du ressort des candidats de s’assurer auprès de leur organisme de réglementation provincial ou territorial qu’ils remplissent toutes les conditions pour obtenir leur permis de pratique.